Welcome to National Safe School Accreditation



ACCAB’s School Safety Maturity Models

The Maturity Model concept was originally developed by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) to improve how software is developed and maintained. The model provides organizations with a five-step process to help them develop their software development practices. The current five levels are Initial, Managed, Defined, Quantitatively Managed and Optimizing. The maturity model framework has been adapted to be used in other areas and to address issues such as project management, human resources, ease of use and quality. The Capability Maturity Model concept is useful because it allows organizations to determine their current maturity level and the actions needed to reach the next level.

The ACCAB’s School Safety Maturity Model(SSMM) consists of fourteen Elements, which are described below. The maturity level of school safety is determined based on its maturity for these aspects:

  • Framework
  • Governance
  • Space, Infrastructure and Environment
  • Financing
  • Human Resource
  • Architectural Design – Indoor & Outdoor
  • Compliance
  • Access Control & Security
  • Equipment
  • Transportation
  • Staff
  • Safety
  • Hygiene
  • Maintenance


ACCAB assumes that the approach to the School Safety Maturity Model is most effective when the standards, systems and technology aspects are properly aligned with behavioral and cultural factors. The School Safety Maturity Model is therefore only relevant for schools that meet a number of specific criteria related to the management system, appropriate technology deployment and involvement of people.

ACCAB’s School Safety Maturity Model:

ACCAB’s Solutions:

For Maturity Levels 1,2 and 3:

National Safe School Award Based on the School Safety Balanced Score Card

For Maturity Levels 4 & 5:

National Safe School Accreditation Based on SS 10000 Standard


It is normally recommended that the schools planning to achieve School Safety Capability Maturity, first attempt at National Safe School Award based on Balanced Score Card i.e. Maturity Levels 1 to 3 and after three years of successful implementation and Award achievement at Level 3, make an attempt for National Safe School Accreditation Based on SS 10000 Standard at Level 4 and 5.

However, this does not restrict the School from attempting National safe School Accreditation directly. If their self-Assessment indicates their preparedness level to the maturity level 4 & 5.

These are voluntary Health, Safety and Security Accreditation/ Award Programs and are the first private sector standards exclusively owned by Accreditation Commission for Conformity Assessment Bodies. These are perhaps the first private sector standards that have been granted copyright by the Indian Copyright office of the Government of India.